God of War Ragnarok Main Story Chapters List

God of War Ragnarok is narrative driven action adventure game from SIE Santa Monica. This sequel to the 2018 released God of War continues the story of the father son duo of Kratos and Atreus. This duo explores the nine reals and sub-regions to complete a new questline. This questline is called The Path in-game and it features different chapters to complete. If you are wondering how many chapters are in God of War Ragnarok, this list is for you. Below you will find the complete God of War Ragnarok main story chapters list.

How Many Chapters are in God of War Ragnarok

The Path storyline in God of War Ragnarok is broken up into distinct chapters. These chapters all have their own names and take place in certain locations in the different realms. In total there are 18 Chapters for players to complete as they playthrough the main story of the game. Completing all of the chapters unlocks the Ragnarok trophy. The chapters are as follows:

  1. Surviving Fimbulwinter
  2. The Quest for Tyr
  3. Old Friends
  4. Groa’s Secret
  5. The Lost Sanctuary
  6. The Reckoning
  7. The Runaway
  8. Into the Fire
  9. The Word of Fate
  10. Forging Destiny
  11. Unleashing Hel
  12. Reunion
  13. Creatures of Prophecy
  14. Unlocking the Mask
  15. Hunting for Solace
  16. The Summoning
  17. The Realms at War
  18. Beyond Ragnarok

How long it takes a player to complete The Path storyline is largely up to a few factors. The first factor is what difficulty they play on. A typical playthrough on easy takes roughly 15-20 hours while a playthrough on the highest difficulty can take 40 hours to complete.

The second factor to keep in mind with playtime is how much exploration and side Favours the player chooses to complete while pursuing the main story. There are collectibles and side ‘Favors’ (missions) players can complete during or after the main story which adds to the playtime substantially.

That’s all you really need to know about the different chapters that make up God of War Rangarok. Theses chapters are a mixture of gameplay and cinematics, so there is a nice balance between playing and watching the story unfold.

Thoughts on the God of War Ragnarok main story chapters list? Drop them in the comments below.



A lifelong gamer who has devoted the last six years to the creation and development of "Hold To Reset," a website tailored by gamers for gamers. Yell your hot takes at him on X.

1 response

  1. flagle says:

    This game has nice main story. It’s my favourite game.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.