Destiny 2 Missions and Expansions Order

Players picking up Destiny 2 for the first time may be a little bit confused over the right order of missions and Expansions in the game. Since the game does little to tell what order to do things, I’ve put together this brief list of the correct Destiny 2 missions and expansions order.

Destiny 2 Base Game Campaign: The Red War

Destiny 2 Server Maintenance

The base game of Destiny 2 consists of a campaign called The Red War. This campaign will take you across multiple planets for various missions. In total there are 17 campaign missions to complete during The Red War:

  1. Homecoming
  2. Adieu
  3. Spark
  4. Devrim Kay
  5. Combustion
  6. Hope
  7. Riptide
  8. Utopia
  9. Looped
  10. Six
  11. Sacrilege
  12. Fury
  13. Payback
  14. Unbroken
  15. Larceny
  16. 1AU
  17. Chosen

After you’ve completed these missions you will more than likely wish to dive into the various expansions the game has received. These expansions add new planets and short story missions to complete.

Destiny 2 Expansions Correct Order

Image showing a portion of Shadowkeep on the Moon.

Currently there are a total of four Expansions available for Destiny 2. These expansions should be completed in the following order for maximum ‘enjoyment’.

Curse of Osiris

Curse of Osiris takes players to the planet of Mercury. On this planet there are a eight story missions to complete alongside the Infinite Forest and the Lost Prophecy weapons forge. The story missions are:

  1. The Gateway
  2. A Deadly Trial
  3. Beyond Infinity
  4. Deep Storage
  5. Tree of Probabilities
  6. Hijacked
  7. A Garden World
  8. Omega


After Curse of Osiris the next expansion to arrive was Warmind. Warmind takes players to Mars to complete a short story. This short story consists of the following five missions:

  1. Ice and Shadow
  2. Pilgrimage
  3. Off-World Recovery
  4. Strange Terrain
  5. Will of the Thousands


Following Warmind Bungie released their next expansion dubbed Forsaken. This expansion took players to two new areas: Tangled Shores and Dreaming City. Across both of these locations there are a total of 14 story missions to complete:

  1. Last Call
  2. High Plains Blues
  3. Scorned
  4. The Rider
  5. The Trickster
  6. The Mad Bomber
  7. The Hangman
  8. The Mindbender
  9. The Rifleman
  10. The Machinist
  11. Nothing Left to Say
  12. Broken Courier
  13. The Oracle Engine
  14. Dark Monastery


As of the time of this writing the last expansion that is currently available for Destiny 2 is Shadowkeep. This expansion takes place on the Moon. On the Moon players will complete a total of seven story missions:

  1. A Mysterious Disturbance
  2. In Search of Answers
  3. Ghosts of Our Past
  4. The Scarlet Keep
  5. In the Deep
  6. The Nightmare Cometh
  7. Beyond

This concludes our brief list highlighting the proper Destiny 2 missions and expansions order. As you can see above there are plenty of missions for players to complete as they explore the storyline of Destiny 2.

Thoughts on our Destiny 2 missions and expansions order list? Drop them in The Pit below.



A lifelong gamer who has devoted the last six years to the creation and development of "Hold To Reset," a website tailored by gamers for gamers. Yell your hot takes at him on X.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.