Pokemon Scarlet and Violet Tera Type Transformations List

In Pokemon Scarlet and Pokemon Violet there is a new transformation called Terastalize. This transformation, when it is triggered, causes the Pokemon to gains buffs in a certain category. When the Tera Type transformation occurs the Pokemon’s visual looks changes as they take on a more crystal-look with unique headwar. To learn more about these transformations see the Pokemon Scarlet and Violet Tera Type transformations list below.

What are All of the Tera Type Transformations?

The Ground Tera Type transformation.

Tera Type transformations can be triggered by trainers or can occur naturally in the world. These transformations change the look of the Pokemon and cause it to tap into it’s Tera Type category to make moves of these types more powerful. There are a total of 18 Tera Types present in Pokemon Scarlet and Pokemon Violet. You can tell the type by the Pokemon’s visual look.

Tera Type List

Tera TypeTransformation
Normal.Pokemon has a diamond on their head.
Fire.Pokemon has a candelabra on their head.
Water. Pokemon has a fountain on their head.
Grass. Pokemon has a flower on their head.
Electric.Pokemon has a lightbulb on their head.
Ice. Pokemon has a snowflake on their head.
Fighting. Pokemon has a fist on their head.
Poison.Pokemon has a skull and crossbones on their head.
Ground.Pokemon has a half-globe on their head.
Flying.Pokemon has a three balloons over their head.
Psychic.Pokemon has a eye over their head.
Bug.Pokemon has a feelers on their head.
Rock. Pokemon has a pillared building on their head.
Ghost. Pokemon has a ghost over their head.
Dark.Pokemon has a gastly face over their head.
Dragon. Pokemon has a dragon over their head.
Steel. Pokemon has a axe over their head.
Fairy. Pokemon has a heart on their head.

After you’ve seen the different Tera Types mentioned above in-game they become much more obvious to remember. The first time you do encounter them it can be a touch confusing, but hopefully this guide helps you better remember the Tera Type transformations.

Once thing to keep in mind is that the Tera Type a Pokemon is stuck with is not absolute. In-game there is a location players can visit to change the Tera Type of the Pokemon they own. This location is The Treasure Eatery in Medali. As you advance through the main storyline you will visit this location to compete in a Gym Battle.

Whats your favorite of the Pokemon Scarlet and Violet Tera Type transformations? Let me know in the comments below.


Enricofairme is the founder and lead writer on holdtoreset.com. He has been creating content about video games for the past 6 years. You can follow Eli on Twitter @enricofairme.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply