How to Unlock Every Character in Super Smash Bros Ultimate

The newest Super Smash Bros. game is now out and with it comes a whole cast of characters for you to unlock. That’s right, like other Smash Bros. games, Super Smash Bros. Ultimate requires you to play and unlock characters. The guide below will show you how to unlock every character in Super Smash Bros Ultimate. Guide Status: Being Updated.

Ways of Unlocking Characters in Super Smash Bros. Ultimate

A New Foe Appears in Super Smash Bros. Ultimate

There are a ton of characters to unlock in Super Smash Bros. Ultimate.

When you start playing Super Smash Bros. Ultimate, you will have a access to the eight of the original 12 characters from Smash 64: Mario, Donkey Kong, Link, Samus, Yoshi, Kirby, Fox and Pikachu. The other fighters in the game can be unlocked using three different methods. The three main methods of unlocking characters are:

  • Playing VS mode.
  • Freeing Captive Spirits in Adventure Mode: World of Light.
  • Playing a full round of Classic Mode with specific characters.

Every character in Super Smash Bros. Ultimate can be unlocked using the methods highlighted above. The only character not unlocked using via any of the game modes above is the Piranha Plant which is a DLC character.

Fastest: Unlock Characters Playing VS Mode

Unlocking a New Character in Super Smash Bros. Ultimate

When you get the chance you will fight with the character that challenges you.

One method of unlocking characters in Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is by playing the game’s VS mode. Unlike other titles in the Smash series, Ultimate’s VS Mode character unlocks is not triggered by things like distance travelled, KOs, Damage Dealt, play time, or even amount of matches. Instead what seems to trigger a character unlock in VS Mode is a 10 minute cooldown timer between unlocks. To circumvent this time gate hinderance, you can reset the unlock timer by resetting your game after each VS battle.

When you are challenged, you and the character you are challenged by will enter a 1v1 battle with a total of one life each. If you win, you unlock the character. If you lose, you will need to faceoff with the character that challenged you again.

You will receive a prompt when the challenger is challenging you again. You can accept it or access it at any time under the Games & More menu on the lower right hand corner (looks like two doors) of the screen called Challenger’s Approach

All characters can be unlocked in VS Mode except for the Mii Fighters. These characters can be created at any time through the Mii Fighter menu (Under Games & More > Mii Fighters). There are three types of Mii Fighters you can create: Brawler, Gunslinger, and Swordfighter.

Fastest Strategy: For fastest results if you are wanting to unlock every character in the shortest amount of time, start up a VS Mode match with one stock. As soon as the match starts jump off the stage and die. Upon completion of the match you should be challenged by a new character. Beat them then reset you game (by closing application and relaunching). Rinse and repeat for an hour and a half. You should have close to everyone by then.  

VS Mode Character Unlock Order

The order of character unlocks in the VS mode is as follows (changes if you’ve unlocked characters using other methods):

  • Ness.
  • Zelda.
  • Bowser.
  • Pit.
  • Inkling.
  • Villager.
  • Marth.
  • Young Link.
  • Wii Fit Trainer.
  • Ice Climbers.
  • Captain Falcon.
  • Peach.
  • Ryu.
  • Ike.
  • Jigglypuff.
  • King K. Rool.
  • Sonic.
  • Simon.
  • Zero Suit Samus.
  • Little Mac.
  • Isabelle.
  • Shulk.
  • Lucina.
  • Wario.
  • Ridley.
  • Pokemon Trainer.
  • Lucario.
  • Daisy.
  • Roy.
  • King Dedede.
  • R.O.B.
  • Falco.
  • Luigi.
  • Pichu.
  • Richter.
  • Lucas.
  • Diddy Kong.
  • Meta Knight.
  • Snake.
  • Ganondorf.
  • Corrin.
  • Mega Man.
  • Bayonetta.
  • Toon Link.
  • Rosalina & Luma.
  • Incineroar.
  • Sheik.
  • Olimar.
  • PAC-MAN.
  • Dark Samus.
  • Wolf.
  • Mr. Game & Watch.
  • Robin.
  • Dark Pit.
  • Cloud.
  • Duck Hunt.
  • Ken.
  • Greeninja.
  • Chrom.
  • Mewtwo.
  • Bowser Jr.
  • Dr. Mario.
  • Palutena.

If you have friends to play with, VS Mode character unlocks are the quickest and most fun way to fill out the roster. If you don’t have people to play with, you can use the modes below to unlock your characters instead (though VS mode can be done solo as well).

Unlock Characters in Adventure Mode: World of Light

The Adventure Mode in Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is another way you can unlock the full roster of characters (Found under Spirits > Adventure Mode). This mode is the story mode of Super Smash Bros. Ultimate and is rather time consuming. When you start the Adventure Mode you will only have Kirby available and must unlock the rest of the cast by freeing their spirits as you find them.

Important: Characters you’ve unlocked in other modes will not show up in the Adventure Mode, but characters unlocked in the Adventure Mode will appear in the other Smash Modes. This is due to narrative reasons. IGN has a good map showing the locations of each character on the overworld here

Here’s where to find all the characters in Adventure Mode:

When you fight either Marth, Sheik, or Villager, you will go down their character specific path. Each path has different characters to unlock along them. I will break down each path below. Important: You can backtrack to unlock characters you may have missed so don’t fret.                                                                                              

The Dark Realm is the area you go to after beating Galeem in the World of Light. In this area there are a number of characters to collect as listed below. 

Unlock Characters in Classic Mode

If you don’t want to unlock characters using the VS Mode or the Adventure Mode, you can unlock characters by playing through the Classic Mode (Found under Games & More > Classic Mode). In Classic Mode you will select a character at the start of the mode and then must complete the mode with that character. At the start you will have eight default characters to select from.

These original characters are linked to unlocking specific groups of characters. If you play with Mario you unlock Sonic. Playthrough again with Mario or Sonic and you unlock Bayonetta. Once you’ve collected enough characters from a og characters path, they can eventually reach another unlock path (meaning you can playthrough classic mode with the same character repeatedly if you want). There’s a good visualization of the character unlock chains here.

Here are the Classic Mode Character Unlock Chains (Difficulty Doesn’t Matter):

  • Mario > Sonic > Bayonetta > Little Mac > Ike > Luigi > Roy > Dr. Mario > Olimar.
  • Donkey Kong > Bowser > Pokemon Trainer > Rosalina and Luma > King Dedede > Sheik > Greninja > Diddy Kong > Duck Hunt. 
  • Link > King K. Rool > Ice Climbers > Simon > Meta Knight > Snake > Young Link > Richter > Toon Link.
  • Samus > Inkling > Wii Fit Trainer > Pit > Incineroar > Dark Samus > Cloud > Wario > Dark Pit.
  • Yoshi > Lucario > Marth > Ryu > Ganondorf > Lucina > Ridley > Chrom > Ken.
  • Kirby > Ness > Jigglypuff > PAC-Man > Zelda > Robin > Corrin > Lucas > Palutena.
  • Fox > Captain Falcon > Zero Suit Samus > Peach > Falco > Daisy > Bowser Jr. > Wolf > Mewtwo.
  • Pikachu > Villager > Shulk > R.O.B. > Mega Man > Isabelle > Mr. Game & Watch > Pichu.
Anything to add to our how to unlock every character in Super Smash Bros Ultimate guide? Let us know in The Pit below.


Enricofairme is the God of Hold to Reset. Starting the site back in 2016, Enricofairme has poured blood, sweat and tears into making HtR a premiere spot for neckbeards and nerds alike.

1 response

  1. anonymous says:

    my dad left me to play this game 24/7

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *